2013 Scandinavian Holidays

Will there be any public holidays or large annual events in Scandinavia during the time you travel to Scandinavia? It can be a great time to enjoy the Scandinavian culture.  On the other hand it may mean business closures and closed banks, etc.  Here is a running list for 2013 for the Scandinavia’s public holidays in Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland and Iceland.

JANUARY

  • Tuesday, January 1: New Year’s Day All of Scandinavia
  • Tuesday, January 1: New Year’s day (Uudenvuodenpäivä) – Findland
  • Sunday, January 6: (religious) Epiphany holiday – Findland/Sweden/Iceland
  • Sunday, January 6: Epiphany  (Loppiainen) – Findland
  • Sunday, January 13: Hilarymas (St Knut’s Day) – Sweden

FEBRUARY

  • Wednesday February 6: Sami National Day
  • Thursday February 14: Valentine’s Day in all of Scandinavia
  • Mid/Late Feb: Finland Ice Marathon
  • Mid/Late Feb: Lantern Festival – Helsinki, Finland
  • Late Feb: Finlandia Ski Race – Finland

MARCH

  • Sunday, 24 March: Palm Sunday –  Norway
  • March 28 – April 1: Easter – Sweden
  • Thursday, March 28: Maundy Thursday – Iceland, Sweden, Norway
  • Friday, 29 March: Good Friday – (Pitkäperjantai) Findland, Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Sweden
  • Sunday, March 31 :Easter Sunday (Pääsiäispäivä) Findland, Swede, Norway

APRIL

  • Monday, April 1 :Easter Monday- Scandinavia (2. Pääsiäispäivä) Findland
  • Thursday, April 25 : First Day of Summer-  Iceland
  • Friday, April 26: General Prayer is on Day- Denmark
  • Tuesday, April 30: Walpurgis Night – Sweden

MAY

  • Wednesday, May 1: Labor Day/May Day in Scandinavia (Vappu, suomalaisen työn päivä) Findland
  • Thursday, May 8th: Liberation Day – Norway
  • Thursday, May 8th:  Ascension Eve – Norway
  • Thursday May 09: Ascension Day- (Helatorstai) Findland, Sweden, Denmark, Iceland, Norway
  • Friday, May 14: Constitution Day – Denmark
  • Friday, May 17: Independence Day (Constitution Day)Norway
  • Sunday, May 19 : Pentecost – (Helluntaipäivä) Findland, Sweden, Norway
  • Sunday, May 19: Whit Monday – Denmark
  • Monday, May 20 : Whit Monday – Iceland
  • Monday, May 20 : Pentecost -Norway
  • Saturday, May 25: Ascension Day (religious) – Scandinavia

JUNE

  • Mid June: Midnight Sun Marathon Tromso – Norway
  • Wednesday, June 5: Independence Day (Constitution Day) in Denmark
  • Thursday, June 6: Independence Day (National Flag Day) in Sweden
  • June 17: National Independence Day in Iceland
  • June 20-23: Midsummer’s Eve (Solstice)
  • Friday, June 21: Midsummer Eve (Juhannusaatto) Findland
  • Saturday, June 22, 2013: Midsummer Day (Juhannuspäivä) Findland, Sweden

JULY

AUGUST

  • Thursday, August 1: Trademen’s Day – Iceland
  • Monday, August 05: Commerce Day – Iceland

SEPTEMBER

OCTOBER

NOVEMBER

  • Early Nov: All Saints’ Day (businesses open)
  • Friday, November 01: All Saints Day – (Pyhäinpäivä) Findland, Sweden
  • Late Nov: Hanukkah/Chanukah

DECEMBER

  • All Dec: Hanukkah/Chanukah
  • Dec 6: Independence Day in Finland
  • Independance Day Finland (Itsenäisyyspäivä) is on Friday, December 06, 2013 Findland
  • Dec 13: Saint Lucia Day
  • Tuesday Dec 24: Christmas Eve: (Jouluaatto) Findland, Iceland
  • Wednesday, December 25, Christmas Day ( (Joulupäivä) Findland,
  • Wednesday, December 25, Christmas Day Sweden
  • Wednesday, December 25, Christmas Day Denmark, Iceland, Norway
  • Thursday, December 26, St. Stephen’s Day:  (Tapaninpäivä) Findland, Iceland,  Sweden, Norway
  •  Thursday, December 26, Boxing Day(day of charitable giving): Iceland, Denmark,
  • Tuesday, December 31: New Year’s Eve: Scandinavia